Skip to content

“For some moments in life, there are no words” – David Seltzer

April 3, 2013

I have decided to take a few months away from writing on my blog.

I’ve always been entirely open and honest with my thoughts here so I’ll take you behind the scenes.

You see, my brilliant, much loved and very dynamic mom has terminal cancer – so aside from running a young and fast-growing company, and being a very busy dad to three boys, I don’t currently have the time or emotional “bandwidth” to write updates and opinion pieces. My free time, limited as it is, is spent with my mother. That is the most important thing right now – for both of us.

I can’t answer for those who find inspiration to write through raw pain and suffering – like the brilliant Christopher Hitchens who penned some of his very best and most inspiring pieces over his “year of living dyingly”. They are to be admired.

There is a wisdom that says, “When you find you can’t feel very much now, it’s because you felt too much before. And when you feel you just don’t care now, it’s because you cared too much before”.

So my answer, for now, is simply to put my pen down for a while. I’ll probably resume writing mid-year or so. In the meantime, I’ve asked some of my Partners to be guest-bloggers – so please check in every now and then.

Thanks,

Mike

Hermione Abel passed away on the 24th April 2013, but a few weeks after her 70th birthday. My mom taught us the art of living – and in the end, the art of dying. I have scarcely seen such bravery, positivity, stoicism and even optimism, every step of this most gravelly of roads. I will miss her enormously.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

